After 20 years, Starmakers Still Shining

Ellison grad Patrick Quinn wins top honor.
By: Todd Martin

The venue and format changed, but the stars shined bright as ever.
The Killeen ISD Education Foundation, now celebrating 20 years, hosted its annual awards ceremony Thursday honoring the top 10 academic graduates of each high school and their chosen favorite teacher.
For the first time, the event was not an evening banquet in a large venue, but a series of individual celebrations spaced out every 5 minutes in the KISD Administration Building boardroom spread out six hours.
While concerns over virus spread moved the event later in the year into a less formal affair, the foundation’s donors came through with even larger gifts. Students, with their two guests and chosen teacher received the personal touch.
“When we started our Starmakers planning for our 20-year anniversary, we never imagined we would be facing a global pandemic this school year,” said Foundation Director Joyce Hodson. “We adjusted our sails and revised the plan to honor our students and teachers in a new way.”
Community donors AdventHealth Central Texas, the Beck Family Foundation, PBK Architects and Toyota of Killeen came forward with even larger awards than usual. This year, each student received $500 and each teacher received $200.
Honored graduates and teachers also received recognition on digital billboards during a week in May, yard signs identifying their honor and recognition in the Killeen Daily Herald’s graduation tabloid.
One tradition that continued was the biggest award of the day, the Kliewer Family Leadership Award, a $10,000 scholarship spread out over four years for a new graduate that excelled academically and in terms of character and community service.
“It means a lot,” said Patrick Quinn, Ellison High School valedictorian and winner of the Kliewer Award. “It was really a goal for my senior year. It will help tremendously. It’s like a dream come true.”
The top-ranked Ellison graduation completed KISD’s new STEM program in conjunction with Central Texas College and earned an associate’s degree. He is also a community volunteer and has worked to advance recycling efforts in the community.
While he hopes to eventually pursue studies abroad, he is currently scheduled to attend Texas A&M University.
Two graduates received $1,000 awards as Kliewer Family finalists, Esha Bhakta and Noemi De Jesus Lopez, both from Harker Heights High School.
For many of the top-10 graduates, the annual Starmakers event provides opportunity to praise teachers who served as valuable mentors and encouragers. While most choose teachers and coaches from their high school years, a handful recall teachers from further back.
“I’ve always been a high performer,” said Carlos Suazo of Early College High School. “So many people have supported me. This is really more for them.”
He chose to honor Patterson Middle School science teacher Joseph Schlaudraff. “He’s been a role model for me. Middle school wasn’t the best time for me, but he kept me motivated.”
Isabelle Dela Cruz went back a little further. She chose Alisa Farmer, her pre-kindergarten and second-grade teacher from Iduma Elementary School.
“She was always really kind and she demonstrated good morals to me,” Dela Cruz said. “I think I carried those moral values through the end of high school.”
Shoemaker High School graduate Janelix Rivera chose kindergarten teacher Hilda Vazquez from her days at Pershing Park Elementary School. “She was my bilingual teacher in kindergarten, so we made an immediate connection,” the high-achieving student said.
“She told me that I was going to make it and now here I am in the top 10.”
All these years later, to hear from a past student and to be honored as their favorite was overwhelming, Vazquez said. “I was shocked,” the grateful teacher said. “I had heard of Starmakers before, but I never expected to be chosen. When her mom contacted me, I cried.”
Class of 2020 Starmaker pairs include the following:
Early College High School
Isaiah Akwitti              Megan Kenobbie CTC/ECHS
Andrea Cavanagh        Pamela Williamson Rancier MS
Tyler Finkbeiner          Wayne Spears ECHS
Ailyne Melena             Latisha McGee ECHS
Kiara Nazario-Ovalle   Jonathan Jones ECHS
Adamari Rios-Salgado Myrna Oquendo Harker Heights ES
Isabelle Sanchez         Eric Bynum ECHS
Madelynn Spear         Bridgett Petro ECHS
Carlos Suazo               Joseph Schlaudraff Patterson MS
Aleina Torres               Breanna Heath ECHS
Ellison High School
Kristine Anderson       Gerald Nicholas Patterson MS
Pierce Bolden              Robert Marshall EHS
Taylor Boquiren          Timothy Young EHS
Luis Diaz Santini          Myra Campos Ira Cross ES
Taylor Jones                Almond Seals Manor MS
Kayla Kopitskie            Shilo Harris EHS
Alannah McAdoo        Holly Landis Maxdale ES
Patrick Quinn              Matthew Lyles CTC STEM
Emily Redmon             Gloria Duarte Patterson MS
Isabella Vidal              Mike Bartoszek Career Center
Harker Heights High School
Esha Manish Bhakta               Sarah Duke Union Grove MS
Kayla Kyoung Davis                 Jeremy Cameron HHHS
Isabelle Lansangan Dela Cruz Alisa Farmer Iduma ES
Mauro Ernesto Ferrer Baez    Dustin Mann HHHS
Madelyn Elizabeth Garrison   Suzanne Thompson HHHS
Saniya Laree Keeton               Rosie Barnes Union Grove MS
Hannah Lee                             David Norris HHHS
Noemi De Jesus Lopez            Eric Weeks HHHS
Alexandra Jean Mack              Kristi Hallbauer HHHS
Nala Arianna Wheeler            Jennifer Lee HHHS
Killeen High School
Badr Belhiti                             Sherry Shoemaker KHS
Rachel Cannon                        Herman Jeter KHS
Anaya Davis                            Joanne Shifflett KHS
Ashleigh Dawkins-Smith         Amanda Dejournett KHS
Brandon Fox                            Fernando Hernandez ECHS
Judea Hubbert                        Tania Ware KHS
Jessica McDavid                      Valerie Nogle KHS
Deniss Moreno                        Delilah Fernandez KHS
Alexa Payne                             Theresa Gill KHS
Aislin Taff                                James Elam KHS
Shoemaker High School
Kevin Arellano                         Steve Mattox SHS
Alana Beard                            Sherry Giarrusso SHS
Maegan Giltug                        Merium Hodge-Cummings SHS
Gabriel Gordon                       Jennifer Frierson Palo Alto MS
Aryanna Hoppman                  Troy Emilson SHS
Michael Horne                        Zandra Ward Live Oak Ridge MS
Julianna Landez                       Don Webster SHS
Michael Lingad                       Amanda Moon HHHS
Janelix Rivera                          Hilda Vazquez Pershing Park ES
Zharria Robinson                     Central Hicks SHS