By Todd Martin

    The Killeen ISD Board of Trustees is the School Board of the Year for Region 12, the Waco-based education service center that covers 76 school districts.

    Superintendent John Craft joined representatives of the board along with Region 12 secondary teacher of the year finalist Barton Jacques in representing the district at a celebration luncheon Wednesday in Waco.

    Terry Delano, board president for the panel that won the award and a 10-year KISD board member thanked the Region 12 leadership and the superintendent’s panel that honored the board.

    He said that while the board members didn’t always agree, they worked together to make decisions in the best interest of students.

    Jacques, a Harker Heights High School science teacher is the secondary teacher of the year in KISD and a Region 12 finalist.

    Laura Young, Nolanville Elementary School teacher is the KISD elementary teacher of the year and also a Region 12 finalist.

    Both honored teachers spoke during KISD’s New Teacher Induction Tuesday, the day before the Region 12 luncheon.

    Young is a 30-year teacher. She said she still tries new strategies every year and urged new teachers to meet each child where they are in their learning.

    Jacques has taught 14 years. He urged new teachers to enjoy their high calling to guide students in a profession that touches the future.

    Region 12 also honored Craig Sullivan of Belton ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year, Deborah DeGraff of Waco ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and Marc Faulkner of China Spring ISD Superintendent of the Year.

    August 11, 2017

    More News can be found here