Honoring Distinguished Alumni

Scholarship winners pose during 2018 event
By: Todd Martin
In a ceremony honoring distinguished Killeen ISD alumni, the spotlight will highlight 53 high school seniors soon to graduate from high school – tomorrow’s distinguished alumni.
The KISD Alumni Association, with Central Texas College and numerous Education Foundation partners will host Thursday its annual Student Scholarship Reception and Distinguished Alumni Awards event at CTC’s Anderson Campus Center. Reception begins at 5:15 p.m.
The Killeen ISD Education Foundation’s partners are set to award $67,400 in scholarships to 53 seniors soon to graduate from high school.
This year’s Distinguished Alumni include Robert Bass, Dr. Rex Hanger, Dr. Truell Hyde II, Capt. Erik Pittman and Jason Pittman.
Robert Bass, operator of R.K. Bass Electric, Inc. took electrical trade classes at Killeen High School where he graduated in 1979. He is a strong supporter of advancing his employees’ careers through conferences and apprenticeships and has established numerous scholarships at CTC and the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. He and his wife Cheryl have three sons and 11 grandchildren.
Dr. Rex Hanger, a graduate of Ellison High School’s first class in 1979, teaches at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in the fields of geology and paleontology. He has published numerous research papers with special interest in ancient marine invertebrate fossils.  
Dr. Truell Hyde, II, a 1974 Killeen High School graduate, is Director of the Center for Astrophysics, Space Physics and Engineering Research at Baylor University. The former Roos Band horn player and All-State Band member still plays his instrument and serves on the Waco Symphony Board. He and his wife Carliss have one daughter.
Capt. Erik Pittman, a National Merit Scholar and Killeen High School valedictorian of the Class of 1991, is Deputy Director of Command, Control, Communications and Cyber at the U.S. Indo-Pacific Command. He has 25 years of service in the U.S. Navy.
Jason Pittman, a 1993 Killeen High School graduate, is a U.S. Navy Deputy Commodore of Submarine Squadron Six in Norfolk, Va., where he is responsible for 11 fast-attack submarines. He has 20 years’ experience in the naval submarine force.
In addition to honoring a new class of distinguished alumni and awarding scholarships to high-achieving seniors, the event provides Education Foundation leaders a chance to thank its numerous donors.
Since its inception in 2000, the KISD Education Foundation has awarded $831,214 in campus classroom grants and rebates, $411,589 in professional learning grants and $471,228 in scholarships to 314 graduating seniors.
This year’s scholarship recipients include the following:
Central Texas College Scholarships – Erin Brown, Cassie Reyher, Jaquelin Rodriguez, Carolina Rosario and Alexia Wilkinson
Alumni Association Scholarships – Chantelle Cancel, Victoria Hicks, Audrey Lucey, Baylee McGuire and Alana Ruff
Barr Family Scholarship – Hakim Scott
Vicky Cooke Johnson Emerald Award – Kylei Vale
De Los Santos Academic Scholarship – Izja Lopez
Joni Lutz De Los Santos Education Scholarship – Carolyn Orona
Cohen Diem Special Education Scholarship – Laura Manglona
Educated Angels Scholarship in Memory of C. Zachary Sheppard – Naomi Whitfield
Andreas Garza Memorial Scholarship – Joceline Ballesteros
Norma Gray Memorial Scholarship – Nevaeh Christie
Hargus Family Scholarship – Brennan “Tucker” Sills
Dr. Jim and Nancy Hawkins Scholarship – Toranz James
Heart of a Lion Scholarship – Avery Parker
Maxine Hemenway and Joyce Wright Music Scholarship – Aliya Gonzalez
Margaret Hunt Memorial Scholarship – Faith Mason
Hunter Rentals Educational Scholarship – Kamyah Barnes
Killeen High School Class of 1975 Scholarship – Leyhma Leban
Killeen High School Class of 1977 Scholarship – Brittaney Rivera-Orsini
KISD Educational Foundation Board Scholarship – Youstina Soliman and Jannel Hayden
KISD Education Foundation Campus Scholarship – Peyton Heidtbrink, Mohammad Khan, Jaylah Rawles, Dinev Rosales and Isaiah Sears
Killeen School Retirees’ Association Scholarship – Jean Cerezo-Pujol
Lions Pride Exemplifying Character Scholarship – Juan Villafana
Juanell Byrd Skidmore Memorial Scholarship – Cheyenne Carpenter and You Na Kim
Subhani Foundation Scholarship – Pasche Malone
Jack A. Wells Memorial Scholarship – Alejandro Vega
Whitis Foundation Scholarship – Esther Dashevsky
Al “Doc” Wilson Scholarship – Cesar GaribayBartolo
Lolly Buckley Memorial Scholarship – Natalia Goodman
Cleaver Family Scholarship – Gabrielle Clemente and Joseph Denton
Ace M. Connell Music Scholarship – Elizabeth Mattson
John and Gladys Driver Scholarship – Erika Closson and Isabella Trujillo
Harriet C. Jackson Scholarship – Haley Brown
Dr. Henry A. Mayer, Jr. Memorial Scholarship – Alejandra Collier
Brad Pfiester Memorial Scholarship – Lydia Scott
Gary and Helen Purser Family Scholarship – Adia Orduna
Mike Russell Eagle Scout Memorial Scholarship – Stephanie Espinosa Hernandez