Chaparral's Tyler Named 11-5A-II Offensive Newcomer of the Year

Chaparral Bobcat Keith TylerRunning back Keith Tyler set the bar in District 11-5A-II this season, pacing the league in yards rushing and sharing the lead in touchdowns for the Chaparral Bobcats.


Tyler, a junior, piled up 1,209 yards and 13 TDs on the ground –– numbers that vaulted him into superlative standing as the 11-5A-II offensive newcomer of the year.


Along with Tyler, 14 more Bobcats landed on the all-district list, as voted on by the league’s coaches and released this week.


Chaparral, which posted a 3-7 record and nearly qualified for the playoffs in its second season as a program, had two unanimous first-team all-district selections in sophomore running back Kenneth Johnson (124 carries, 1,132 yards, seven TDs) and junior offensive lineman Elgia Johnson. Junior center Torrie Henry and junior safety Joseph Hollis also garnered first-team honors.

Chaparral Bobcat Kenneth Johnson


Second-team picks for the Bobcats were tight ends Micah Curtis (senior) and Jeremiah Williams (sophomore), senior inside linebacker Darrian Sauls, senior outside linebacker Jordan Brazil and senior cornerback Adonis McKenzie.


Checking in at honorable mention were sophomore running back Davian Arthur (85 carries, 584 yards, six TDs), linemen Amauri Enoe (junior) and Caidyn Wood (junior), senior inside linebacker Isaac Bonilla and senior defensive end Sam Wells.


Senior quarterback Reese Rumfield from Belton was voted the district’s overall MVP. Rumfield completed 133 of 223 passes for 1,618 yards and 17 touchdowns, and added 731 yards and 12 TDs rushing for the district-champion Tigers.


All-District 11-5A-II


MVP: Reese Rumfield, sr., Belton

Offensive MVP: London Smith, soph., Waco University

Defensive MVP: Nico Fisher, sr., Leander Rouse

Offensive newcomer of the year: Keith Tyler, jr., Chaparral

Defensive newcomer of the year: Joaquin Martinez, soph., University

All-purpose MVP: Owen Garcia, sr., Pflugerville Connally

OL of the year: John Roach, sr., Belton

DL of the year: Jacob Caruthers, sr., Rouse

Deep snapper: Blake Thames, jr., Elgin

Punter: Trent Johnson, sr., Rouse

Kicker: Aaron Olade, sr., Connally

Co-return specialists: Owen Garcia, sr., Connally; Alton McCallum, sr., Belton

Coaching staff of the year: Belton


First-Team Offense

Offensive linemen: Elgia Johnson, jr., Chaparral; EJ Caldwell, sr., Pflugerville; Aiden Beckett, sr., Elgin; Aiden Newbill, sr., Connally; Micah Willis, jr., University; Tye Rybraski, sr., Rouse; Jace Faminu, sr., Rouse; Aiden Acton, sr., Rouse; Torrie Henry, jr., Chaparral


Tight ends: Jaivion Martin, soph., Pflugerville; Diego Coleman, sr., Belton


Quarterbacks: Nathen Lewis, sr., Elgin; Cole Taylor, soph., Pflugerville


Running backs: Kenneth Johnson, soph., Chaparral; Jamal Abercrumbia, sr., Connally; Justin Cannon, sr., Rouse


Full back: Amarie Haywood, jr., Pflugerville


Wide receivers: Kyran McFrazier, jr., Pflugerville; Landon Bradley, sr., Connally; Noah Fabila, jr., Rouse; Keller Rogers, sr., Rouse; Brayden Gollihar, sr., University


First-Team Defense

Defensive ends: Donny Wright, jr., Pflugerville; Ethan Arendall, sr., Belton; Kamareon Kindle, jr., University; Jaydus Bell, jr., Connally


Defensive tackles: Sonny Davis, jr., Pflugerville; Hayden Hourany, sr., Belton; Tarrinton Brown, jr., University; Tyler Evans, jr., Rouse; Bryson Sauceda, sr., Belton


Inside linebackers: Jackson Clowdus, jr., Elgin; Wyatt Butler, sr., Belton; Preston Welton, sr., Rouse


Outside linebackers: Derrius Holiday, sr., Elgin; Giani Zecca, sr., Belton; Armani Franklin, jr., University; Caden Heitzmann, sr., Rouse


Safeties: Joseph Hollis, jr., Chaparral; Lawrence Doe, sr., Connally; Jae’Juan Harris, sr., University


Cornerbacks: CJ Anderson, jr., Connally; Alton McCallum, sr., Belton; Efeosa Edomwandagbon, sr., Belton; Owen Mietus, sr., Rouse


Second-Team Offense

Offensive linemen: Beckett Butler, fresh., Belton; Chris De La Garza, jr., Rouse; Jaden Winslow, jr., Rouse; Max Mendoza, sr., Pflugerville; Joseph Stiggers, jr., Elgin; Marlon Bluntson, jr., Belton; Enrique Rangel, sr., University; Luke Lamberte, sr., Belton


Tight ends: Micah Curtis, sr., Chaparral; Jeremiah Williams, soph., Chaparral; Mason Rieger, jr., Rouse


Quarterbacks: Cade Bynnom, soph., University; London Morgon, soph., Rouse


Running backs: Rhyder Miller, jr., Pflugerville; Shaun Snapp, jr., Belton; LD Evans, jr., University


Full back: EJ Eckles, sr., University


Wide receivers: Christian Baham, sr., Pflugerville; Sean Nolan, sr., Rouse; Zaire Nuells, jr., Elgin; Rayshaun Peoples, jr., Belton; Angel Guerrero, sr., Belton; Blake Courtney, sr., Elgin


Kicker: Paden Maass, sr., Elgin


Second-Team Defense

Defensive ends: Didier Thorpe, soph., Connally; Dennis Lavigne, sr., Elgin; Damien Tiumalu, jr., Belton; Braden Eberwine, jr., Rouse


Defensive tackles: Jaxson Woolridge, sr., Pflugerville; Jeffery Love, soph., Elgin; Edgar Martinez, sr., University


Inside linebackers: Darrian Sauls, sr., Chaparral; Kenneth Magee, jr., Pflugerville; Rogelio Huitron, sr., Elgin; Dante Martinez, sr., Belton;


Outside linebackers: Jordan Brazil, sr., Chaparral; Sam Shepard, sr., Belton; Brandon Bradshaw, jr., Pflugerville; Ousman Jabateh, jr., Connally; Joseph Caballero, jr., University


Safeties: Luke Flores, sr., Belton; Micah Henderson, sr., University; Kegan Sherwood, jr., Belton; Judson Mann, jr., Rouse; Jacob Dotson, jr., Rouse


Cornerbacks: Adonis McKenzie, sr., Chaparral; Trae Degrate, sr., University; De’Vontre Kirkland, fresh., University; Jaxon Kolyts, jr., Rouse; Jayden Alvizo, sr., Elgin.


Honorable Mention

Chaparral: Davian Arthur, soph., running back; Amauri Enoe, jr., offensive lineman; Caidyn Wood, jr., offensive lineman; Isaac Bonilla, sr., inside linebacker; Sam Wells, sr., defensive end


Academic All-District

Chaparral: Cameron Bennett, Imer Bolton_Smith, Justin Brown, Bryan Brundidge, Antonio Bunton, Darian Cress, Kayden Delavan, Joshua Garcia, Kaileb Gunter, Nicholas McLean, Joshua Newson, Daniel Perez, Justice Tuimavave, Sam Wells, Caidyn Wood.