Teachers of the Year Announced

KISD's annual teacher of the year process is underway.
By: Todd Martin
Making their start toward an evening of celebration and a surprise announcement, Killeen ISD’s newest campus teachers of the year gathered Tuesday for official photos and a little motivation to keep on going.
In their first meeting as a group, the school district’s 52 peer-selected teachers of the year for 2019-2020 sat for photos at the KISD Career Center studio.
Next, they met in the high school lecture hall for instruction in the ongoing recognition process and praise for earning the vote of confidence from colleagues.
This year’s teacher of the year event, when finalists and winners are announced, is Tuesday, May 19 at the Killeen Civic and Conference Center.

The event begins with a teacher showcase from 4 to 5 p.m. with honored teachers scheduled to meet supporters and members of the public.
The recognition event, limited to ticket-holders, begins at 5:30 p.m. and concludes with the dramatic reveal of KISD’s new elementary and secondary teachers of the year.
Executive Director for Elementary Leadership Jo-Lynette Crayton urged the chosen teachers to enjoy their time to shine.
She explained that this year’s theme, “Mentors of Masterpieces” reflects the role of classroom teachers as mentors to students who move on to become their masterpieces.
Lisa Stewart, a 20-year educator, is Skipcha Elementary School’s teacher of the year. “I’m very humbled to be nominated by my co-workers,” she said. “There are so many outstanding teachers here.”
The kindergarten teacher praised KISD for its strong support of teachers, including generous professional development opportunities. “KISD is stacked with outstanding teachers,” she said. “This is very exciting.”
The teachers, each chosen by their campus peers, already completed an application. Next, they each participate in panel interviews, submit a writing sample and host classroom observers.
“Enjoy the ride,” Crayton said. “Let this be a time of refreshment.”
The KISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year enter the Region 12 Teacher of the Year process, which is a stepping stone to the state and national teachers of the year.
Elementary Teacher of the Year Shannon Gallinger of Clifton Park and Secondary Teacher of the Year Jonathan “Marc” Jones of Early College High School received the district honors a year ago.
This year’s campus representatives include the following:
Elementary Teachers of the Year:
Christina Srock Douse
Jossie Marino-Vega Bellaire
Regina Beard Brookhaven
Christina Pearson Cedar Valley
Nathaniel Ladson Clarke
Melody Jackson Clear Creek
Rebecca Widmer Clifton Park
Mashawn Sticca Fowler
Lavette Hale Harker Heights
April Calvert Hay Branch
Nina Flick Haynes
Michelle Kaaloa Iduma
Anna Harms Ira Cross
Kerri Bridegroom Maude Moore Wood
Tasha Rogers Maxdale
Carly Ross Meadows
Patricia Chastain Montague Village
Korin Lopez Mountain View
Molli Odum Nolanville
Melissa Thomas Hobby
Milagros Vazquez Peebles
Catherine Luna Pershing Park
Angela Ellis Reeces Creek
Megan Gordon Cavazos
Patricia Austin Saegert
Lisa Stewart Skipcha
Jacqualyn Dingle Sugar Loaf
Chong Chanthraboutda Timber Ridge
Sonia Douglas Trimmier
Dana Easter Venable Village
Julia Sellers West Ward
Lisa Deas Willow Springs
Secondary Teachers of the Year:
Morgan Fayerweather Audie Murphy
Gerald Nicholas Patterson
Ashley Haight Eastern Hills
Graciela Pedroza Gateway MS
Karen Lanxon Liberty Hill
Roxanne Amador Live Oak Ridge
Takia Dill Manor
Justine Morales Nolan
Elise Kea Palo Alto
Andrea Howard Rancier
Angela Michler Smith
Elizabeth Magee Union Grove
Jeff Smith Ellison
Julia Cochran Early College
Kathy Hrometz Gateway HS
Peter Emerson Harker Heights HS
Keina Cook Killeen
Jeremy Terry Career Center
Suzanne Andal-Book Pathways
Deborah Moore Shoemaker