Distinguished Alumni Event Set Next Week

Distinguished Alumni speak at 2022 eventThe Killeen ISD Alumni Association is honoring five new Distinguished Alumni and recognizing 71 recipients of this year’s Education Foundation scholarships.


This year’s Distinguished Alumni Scholarship Ceremony is Thursday, March 30 starting at 6 p.m. at the Killeen Civic and Conference Center. A reception begins at 5:15 p.m.


This year’s distinguished alumni are Dr. Mary Ellen Cavitt, Alanah Lawrason, Sarah Cockerham Lynch, Dr. Sheryse Desiree Mobley and Judge Rick Morris.


Mary Ellen Cavitt is Associate Vice President for Academic Success, Dean of University College, and Professor of Music Education at Texas State University. A graduate of The Juilliard School, Cavitt started her career as a professional musician and music educator. she attended Harker Heights Elementary where her mother taught fifth grade, Manor Jr. High where she served as president of the student body, and Killeen High School where she was a 3-year TMEA All-State French horn player.


Alanah Lawrason is the owner/operator of Foggy Hill Farm. She attended Hay Branch Elementary School, Reeces Creek Elementary School, Nolan Middle School, and Shoemaker High School. She graduated 4th in her class and was the President of her Senior Class. In 2020 she opened her farm on Whidbey Island. During this time she collaborated with other farmers, coordinated outreach opportunities within her community and organized community outreach events at her own farm.


Sarah Cockerham Lynch attended Fowler and Bellaire Elementary Schools, Nolan Junior High, and graduated from Killeen High School in 1975.She taught for over 10 years in KISD. As a senior spouse, Lynch has been a staunch advocate for Army families. She is currently the COO of R Lynch Enterprises, and an Ambassador for the Gary Sinise Foundation and Homes for Our Troops. She is also an advisor for Operation Family Home. She and her husband, Rick, who retired as a Lieutenant General, moved 27 times during their service in the military.


Dr. Sheryse Desiree Mobley graduated from Killeen High School in 2011 and completed undergraduate studies at Texas Tech University School, continued to Kent State University, where she obtained a Doctorate in Podiatric Medicine, and was commissioned into the United States Air Force. She completed a 3-year Podiatric Surgery Residency at the Baltimore Veterans Affairs/Sinai Hospital Rubin Institute in Baltimore, Maryland, and was promoted to the rank of Captain. Dr. Mobley is currently stationed at Joint Base Elmendorf Richardson in Anchorage, Alaska where she serves as a staff Podiatric Foot & Ankle Surgeon.


Judge Rick Morris, a 1969 graduate of Killeen High School, was elected 146th Judicial District Judge six times. He was twice named Public Sector Lawyer of the Year, was Drug Court Judge, director of the Texas Center for the Judiciary and Judicial Section of the State Bar of Texas and is now a visiting judge and counsel to Baird, Crews, Schiller & Whitaker.





Scholarship recipients include:



Emma Allison

Emma Bertelson

Lauren Brooks

Nykaela Burks

Alyssa Cruz

Onaedochukwu Eneli

Lindsey Henderson

Ava Hugg

Evan Kime

Daniel Lanxon

Rebecca Mack

Lilliana Provost

Sophia Rios-Wallis

Brooke Ross

Richard Sporluck

Daejean Turner-Finley

Jeanelis Watson

Aaron Yang



Olivia Farmer

Olivia Fischer

Makenna Fulgham

Rylie Gawryszewski

Kera Harvey

Ahmad Kesbeh

Alesandra Nunez-Morales

Sia Patel

Xavier Payne



Izma Dar

Logan Frishman

Zamya Lister

Abigail McIver



Patricia Devoux



Isaac Almeida

Brandi Clark

Brandi Garcia

Tola Gormley

Phylicia Harkness

Judah Johnson

Andrea Newton

Linh Nguyen

Madison Nichols

Garyn Ogburn

Haley Redden

Avani Rouse

Alyssah Scott-Padmore

Nina Stinehour

Caden Towlson



Alexander Angulo

Jissela Cabrera

Gabrial Jefferson

Nicole Martinez Cumba

Yazmin Ortiz Colon

Laura Quevedo

Fabian Ricci-Ramirez

Yahirnitza Torres Cruz

Shaylee Welsh



Rachel Ballesteros

Fabiola Barron

Connor Beeman

Riya Bhakta

Damion Brown

Vonshay Burciaga

Kaycee Marjorie Caravana Gomez

Samir Chebaro

Jo’Naysia Collins

Hatem Muhammad

Chritopher Penn

Tramari Randles-Ladieri

Andreonnah Shaw

Ethan Whiteman

Ahnajah Wimbley